Umbrella

In a world changing through the seasons
let’s witness them together as a whole

As autumn leaves fall on the ground
setting up the streets with faded hues
I put my arm around your waist
And pull you towards me
You tangle a scarf around your neck
And take my hand in your palms
You snuggle closer to my side
And the winds don’t feel cold anymore

When snowflakes adorn the pines
And our doorway is covered in sheets of ice
We hold each other in a warm blanket
And tell stories on the wooden porch
I make hot chocolate for us to relish
While your repair and service the heater
You switch it on with a flicker
And we lie down next to it, on the rug

When flowers of spring start to bloom
And the sun starts to look prettier
We fold away our sweaters and shawls
And open the door for the warm breeze
You trim and water our dearest plants
As I cook my signature chicken appetizers
I present it to you like a MasterChef recipe
And you take the bigger pieces for yourself

When warm transforms to scorching
And clouds don’t seem to exist anymore
I roam around the house shirtless
And you tickle me as I watch TV
I fill up ice trays and bottles in the fridge
As you play tennis with the girls of our neighborhood
I pour out glasses of chilled coffee for all of you
And you use my t-shirt to wipe the sweat off your face

When the first drops start to fall
And the skies get covered in grey shades
I try to find shelter under the tea shop around the corner
And hastily shove my wallet and money in a plastic bag
You know my consistency about the rains and give me a call
I receive it in a jiffy and listen to you rant about my carelessness
You arrive to pick me up again and taunt me at my clumsy behavior
And still, you don’t understand that the reason I forget my umbrella
Is so that I could share yours.

-Meetali Pandit

Follow me on
Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn-Meetali Pandit
Instagram- @meetalipandit_

Leave a comment